How to Permanently Delete Your WordPress Website (and Why You’d Want to)
Deleting your website files will mean that the site will be shut down, but removing it completely from the internet is a different story. There could be a wait between shutting down and search engines realizing that your site is inactive. Also, your webpages may be stored elsewhere, such as archive site the Wayback Machine – so if you don’t want a permanent trace to remain, this issue needs to be addressed too.
How to Permanently Delete a WordPress Site from the Internet
Recently, one of our readers asked if it was possible to permanently delete a WordPress site from the internet? Simply deleting your WordPress installation does not completely remove it from the internet. In this article, we will show you how to permanently delete a WordPress site from internet.
It is possible to reverse a site deletion for the first 30 days after a site is closed. If you realize you closed your site in error, please contact us immediately. We will be able to assist you in restoring your site during this 30 day window. Once the 30 days have passed, all of your site data is purged and cannot be restored, and the site address is deleted and cannot be reused.